ATTENDANCE: President Rev. Mark Godfrey and 23 members present.

APOLOGIES: 8 apologies received from members.

MINUTES: minutes 0f 36th meeting agreed correct and signed by President. No amendments, changes or matters arising.

GENERAL SECRETARY’S REPORT: 61 members at close of previous season but regrettably 1 death during close season and 37th season started therefore with 60 members on books.

—6 new members joined during season.

— 1 death sadly reported.

—5 members dropped from membership.

At close of season membership remained at 60 members.

Continuing publicity through Harrogate Advertiser/ Church Website Links/ Harrogate Library and Tourist Information Centre and out own Forum Website.

PROGRAMME SECRETARY’S REPORT: Average attendance 32/33 during season.

Highlights included Reg Jackson’s 100th Birthday Meeting and Derek Clarkson’s Open Meeting Talk which equalled attendance record of 44. Also visited by Harrogate Borough Council Chief Executive Wallace Sampson in February.

£300 Charitable donations through direct contributions or via speaker’s fees.

Open Meetings and Members Mornings now agreed as permanent part of Annual Programme.

No change to length of Programme Season.

Ascot House Christmas lunch booked for third Tuesday in December (16th).

TREASURERS REPORT: Indicative receipts and payments account shows a continuing healthy surplus with costs continuing to be well controlled.

Increase in rent donation to Church (£20) agreed –up to £800.

Thanked Registrar Derek Simpson for his weekly efforts.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS: President Rev. Mark Godfrey was standing down after this meeting due to Church reorganization within Harrogate District and it was agreed he would be succeeded by Rev. Christine Gillespie.

PRESIDENT:                          Rev. Christine Gillespie.

CHAIRMAN:                                    Michael Cochrane.

VICE CHAIRMAN:                        Neil Ramshaw.

**vacancy continues for 2nd Vice Chairman.

GENERAL SECRETARY:            Neil Ramshaw.


TREASURER:                                   Roy Smith.

REGISTRAR:                                    Derek Simpson.

CHURCH CONTACT:                    Mike South.

WELFARE OFFICER:                     Peter Copley.

CATERING OFFICERS:               Bill Blades; John Clark;                                                                                                            Bill McNicol; Tom Snelling.

AUDITOR:                                          Chris Butterfield.

The President thanked outgoing Chairman Roger Bancroft and all the officers for their work which contributed to such a successful Forum.

LAST EVENT OF THE SEASON: Informal lunch organized by John Taylor at Smith’s Arms Beckwithshaw on Tuesday May 6th at 12p.m.


—No 2nd Vice Chairman appointed –hoped to fill at a later date.

—Roy Howard proposed as Honorary Life Member and elected by audience acclaim.

—“Vote of Thanks” coordinator and potential rota for this task discussed—David Essam to liaise with John Taylor at start of new season.


—Next season (38th) of Forum will start with first meeting on Tuesday October 7th 10a.m. for 1030a.m.

—Michael Cochrane (Incoming Chairman) thanked President Rev. Mark Godfrey for his contributions to the Forum.


Comments are closed.